New objects in Ivangorod fortress opened

The recovered ancient buildings have been opened in Ivangorod fortress on the border with Estonia on 18 December, 2015. The new museum space appeared in the branch of Museum Agency of Leningrad region - in Ivangorod fortress was inaugurated the recovered objects of defensive architecture: Small Powder Granary and Chetverougol'naya fortress (Четвероугольная крепость), 1492 year.

Deputy Chairman of the Government of Leningrad region on Social Affairs, Mr Nikolai Yemelyanov, handed the symbolic keys to the Granary to Ms Irina Mironova, head of the Ivangorod Museum. This festive moment was saluted with the thundering volleys of cannon and muskets. Besides, the whole celebration was completed with bright performances by invited authentic musicians, dancers and singers.





The opening ceremony was also attended by the Consul General of the Russian Federation in Narva, Mr Dmitry Kazyonnov, Consul General of the Republic of Estonia in St. Petersburg, Ms Victoria Tuulas, representatives of the administration of the Leningrad region, the Narva City Council, Information Managers of the Joint Technical Secretariat of the Estonia-Latvia-Russia CBC ENPI programme, museum workers, archaeologists and restorers.  

These new museum facilities meet international standards of tourist and museum objects. The Small Powder Granary combines reception area and information center, hall for temporary exhibitions, souvenir shop, and Conference hall.




The reconstruction of architectural objects of Ivangorod fortress was implemented in the framework of the project “Development of unique Narva-Ivangorod fortresses ensemble as a single cultural and tourist object” of the Estonia-Latvia-Russia CBC ENPI programme.

The project has a budget of about EUR 6.9 million. The Programme’s contribution is approximately EUR 6.2 million. The project partners are Narva City Government, Department for City Development and Economy and Museum Agency of Leningrad region State Budget Institution of Culture.